Messi won the ‘Sports Oscar’ for the second time, he’s amazing

Striker Lionel Messi was named Athlete of the Year at the Laureus Awards in Paris on Monday. Laureus World Sports Awards, known as the “Oscar of world sports”, is an annual award honoring athletes and sports teams with the best achievements of the year.
Lionel Messi became the first athlete to win individual and team Laureus awards in the same year.
Lionel Messi became the first athlete to win individual and team Laureus awards in the same year.

Winning the World Cup 2022 continues to bring great honors to the individuals and groups that made it at the Laureus Awards ceremony. Captain Messi was named Athlete of the Year, while Argentina won the Team of the Year award. Messi also became the first athlete to win both individual and team Laureus awards in the same year.

This is the second time the 35-year-old soccer superstar has received the honor – after first sharing it with Formula 1 driver Lewis Hamilton in 2020. “I’m looking at the names of the legends who have won the award. awarded this honor before me: Schumacher, Woods, Nadal, Federer, Bolt, Hamilton, Djokovic… and this is a unique honor,” Messi shared.

Elsewhere, sprint champion Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce clinched Men’s Athlete of the Year after a stellar 2022, including winning 100m gold at the World Athletics Championships. . Tennis player Carlos Alcaraz, who won the US Open 2022 and rose to number one in the ATP rankings, was named Breakthrough Athlete of the Year.


Midfielder Christian Eriksen, who has recovered from a cardiac arrest at Euro 2022 in 2021 but could return to playing in the Premier League, first with Brentford and then Man.United, before playing in the World Cup with him. Denmark team, received the Return of the Year award. Disabled Person of the Year Award goes to Catherine Debrunner. Action of the year award went to Eileen Gu.

The Laureus World Sports Awards have been around since 2000. The nominees for the award are selected by the global media, while the 71 members of the Laureus World Sports Academy will select those. wins in categories. Roger Federer holds the record of 5 times being honored and is the only person to have 4 years in a row. Novak Djokovic has been honored 4 times, followed by Usain Bolt (3 times), and Tiger Woods, Michael Schumacher, Rafael Nadal, Messi has 2 times.


Related Posts

D̲i̲s̲c̲o̲v̲e̲r̲ T̲o̲m̲ C̲r̲u̲i̲s̲e̲’s̲ m̲i̲l̲l̲i̲o̲n̲ d̲o̲l̲l̲a̲r̲ c̲o̲l̲l̲e̲c̲t̲i̲o̲n̲ o̲f̲ c̲a̲r̲s̲ a̲n̲d̲ p̲l̲a̲n̲e̲s̲

Advertisement Advertisement Tom Cruise is famous for doing his own dangerous scenes with motorcycles and cars in the movie. In real life, the star has a million-dollar…

Haaland admits dreaming of De Bruyne ‘every night’

Advertisement Advertisement The perfect pair of Man City is Erling Haaland and Kevin De Bruyne are showing a relationship more than teammates on and off the pitch….

Because of Mbappe, Real Madrid will give PSG a ‘headache’

Advertisement Advertisement Big changes at Real Madrid could have a serious impact on Paris Saint-Germain, specifically through the future of superstar Kylian Mbappe. Mbappe will come to…

C̲r̲i̲s̲t̲i̲a̲n̲o̲ R̲o̲n̲a̲l̲d̲o̲ jet – The most incredible sky castle

Advertisement Advertisement Inside “King” Ronaldo’s royal palace: The most expensive sky castle drives actors “ᴄʀᴀᴢʏ” Recently, Cristobal Ronaldo decided to sell his Gulfstream G200 private plane because…

Failure in the FA Cup final is a motivation for Man United to work harder

Advertisement Advertisement Although only lost 1 goal to Man City, the gap between Man Unitedand its city rivals is now too large, it cannot be narrowed in just…

Why C̲r̲i̲s̲t̲i̲a̲n̲o̲ R̲o̲n̲a̲l̲d̲o̲ has flown straight to Singapore just two days after ending trophyless first season with Al-Nassr

Advertisement Advertisement Cristiano Ronaldo has jetted to Singapore after ending his first season with Al-Nassr, Ƅut there is a reason why the Portuguese is in the country….

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!